HomeCampus NewsSenior High SchoolMfantsipim School Holds 142nd anniversary,Speech and Prize Giving Day

Mfantsipim School Holds 142nd anniversary,Speech and Prize Giving Day

Must read

Christopher Sam
Christopher Sam is a web designer, developer and has advanced knowledge in Search Engine Optimization, Responsive Website Design, Emails Marketing, BULK SMS Messaging, Schema Markup and a certified Google Trainer. He is a creator and editor at Hypercitigh.com, an online digital platform focusing on Credible and Timely news and in Ghana.
- Advertisement -

Mfantsipim School in Cape Coast,  the Central regional captial, Ghana’s oldest senior high school,  Producing world changers since 1876. So
Mfantsipim represents 142 years of senior high school education in this  country. Mfantsipim is an all-boys educational institution.

Mfantsipim School Hold it 142nd anniversary,Speech and Prize Giving Day  Today.

This years event, was climaxed on Saturday, November 10, 2018 is jointly being organised and sponsored by the school and five year groups of the
Mfantsipim Old Boys Association (MOBA), namely the 1968, 1978, 1988, 1998 and 2008 year groups, who would make donations towards the
school’s  integrated biogas project, among others.

The name, Mfantsipim, was provided by the Honourable John Mensah-Sarbah, an accomplished lawyer and a member of the “pioneer boys”.
Mfantsipim, he insisted, was to be “the soul of the people”. John Mensah Sarbah was political leader in the Aborigines Rights Protection Society

which was heir to the Fante Confederation. It was the Rev. A.W. Parker, who, together with John Mensah-Sarbah, read the proclamation on 31st July,
1905. The founding fathers of Mfantsipim desired that the School should inculcate in its boys mental discipline, mental honesty, moral courage and
above all, the character which is worthy of the Christian foundation of the School
Below are Wishes from Adisadel and Saint Augustine School on Twitter to Mfantsipim School as the School Celebrates it 142 years of Academic excellence. Dwen Hwe Kan.

- Advertisement -


list of notable alumni of Mfantsipim School

  • Albert Adu Boahen – flagbearer of the New Patriotic Party in the 1992 general election
  • Papa Owusu-Ankomah – lawyer, politician, former MP for Sekondi, High commissioner to UK
  • William Ofori Atta – a member of the big six
  • Komla Agbeli Gbedemah – politician, present with Kwame Nkrumah when Ghana’s Independence was declared
  • Joe de Graft
  • Kwamena Duncan – educationist, Central Regional Minister
  • Kwesi Amissah-Arthur – former Vice President of Ghana, former Governor of Bank of Ghana
  • Kwabena Agyapong – politician, former General Secretary of the NPP
  • Kow Nkensen Arkaah – former Vice President of Ghana 1992 – 1996
  • Joe Appiah – Politician
  • Kofi Abrefa Busia – Prime Minister of Ghana
  • Archie Casely-Hayford – lawyer and politician

Ghanaian MPs

  • Kwabena Okyere Darko-Mensah- MP for Takoradi, Deputy minister
  • Joe Ghartey- lawyer, MP for Ketan-Essikado, Minister of Railways
  • Edwin Nii Lante Vanderpuye- journalist, MP for Odododiodio
- Advertisement -


  • Kofi Annan- former UN Secretary General
  • Mohamed Ibn Chambas- former MP and Diplomat
  • Alex Quaison-Sackey- first black president of the UN General Assembly

Public service

  • John Henry Martey Newman- Chief of staff of John Evans Atta Mills administration


  • P. Baffour- first Vice Chancellor of KNUST
  • Kwame Bediako- first rector of the Akrofi-Christaller Institute
  • Kwasi Kwarfo Adarkwa- former Vice Chancellor of KNUST
  • Nii Kwate Owoo
  • Joseph Wilfred Abruquah- former headmaster of Mfantsipim
  • Kwame Gyekye- Ghanaian philosopher and lecturer
  • Lordsfield Anani Dzidzienyo — Professor, African Studies, Brown University
- Advertisement -


  • Benjamin Asante- CEO, Ghana National Gas Company

Business, Banking and Finance

  • Ernest Addison- current Governor of the Bank of Ghana
  • K. Agama- former Governor of Bank of Ghana
  • Boakye Agyarko- former Vice President of the Bank of New York, former Minister for Energy

Court Justices, Lawyers and activists

  • Kobina Arku Korsah- first Ghanaian Chief Justice of Ghana
  • John Mensah Sarbah- lawyer and academic
  • Tsatsu Tsikata
  • Kurankyi-Taylor
  • Joe Ghartey
  • E. Casely Hayford- lawyer and academic

Military and Law enforcement

  • Matthew Quashie- former Chief of Defence Staff of the Ghana Armed Forces
  • Erasmus Ransford Tawiah Madjitey- first Ghanaian Commissioner of the Ghana Police Service


  • Edwin Nii Lante Vanderpuye- journalist, MP for Ododiodio, former Minister of Sports


  • Kofi Amoa-Abban- founder of Rigworld
  • Herman Chinery-Hesse- founder of SOFTtribe – the largest software company in Ghana

Film, theater, modeling and television

  • Van Vicker- actor
  • Majid Michel- actor
  • Kweku Elliot- actor
  • Nii Kwate Owoo- filmmaker


  • Nii Okai
  • Bice Osei Kuffour(Obour)- President of Musicians Union of Ghana
  • Alfred P. Addaquay
  • Kofi Owusu Dua Anto(KODA)


  • Kwame Bediako- Christian theologian
  • Kwesi Dickson
  • Albert Ocran- Legacy and Legacy

Athletics and Sports

  • Derek Boateng- former black stars player
  • Arthur Wharton- First black professional footballer in the world
  • Kweku Eyiah- lawyer and football administrator
  • Aziz Zakari- former Ghana sprinter

Source: Hypercitigh.com &dailyguideafrica

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

More articles

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Latest article

- Advertisement -