UG-UTAG elections: Dr. Nkumban retains presidency as Prof. Gyampo grabs General Secretary portfolio



The race to occupy the topmost positions at the University of Ghana chapter of the University Teachers Association of Ghana (UTAG) has finally ended.

The local association organized an online poll today August 5, 2021, for members who desire to spearhead the affairs of the association for the next twenty-four months.

Univers News gathered that the outgoing President, Dr. Samuel Nkumban retained the presidential seat by polling 350 votes, leaving his closest contender, Prof. Johnson Kwame Efavi, 329 votes, behind by 21 votes.

The other presidential candidate in the election, Dr Jerry Harrison trailed behind with 135 votes at the end of polls.

The incumbent vice-president, Dr. Samuel Kojo Kwofie who went unopposed in this year’s election obtained 726 “yes votes” and 64 “no votes”.

This pattern could not replicate itself any further as the outgoing General Secretary Dr Bethel Kwansa-Bentum lost to Prof. Ransford Gyampo.

Prof. Gyampo who is the director of the Centre for European Studies of the University of Ghana gathered 430 votes whilst Dr Kwansa-Bentum lagged with a 51 vote difference.

The local UTAG chapter will have Dr Vera Ogeh Lassey Fiador, a senior lecturer at UG’s Department of Finance as its Treasurer.

She got 586 votes, the second-highest in the election thereby defeating her opponent, Eric Amponsah Amoaful who polled 226 votes.

819 out of 1298 electorates cast their votes in the 2021 UG-UTAG elections.



Source link